Staying Motivated

Secret to change is build new

I’m currently in my first year of college.  I know, it was a late-in-life decision.  However, it took me many years of wandering like a lost soul to figure out what it is that I want to be when I grow up.  I’m still teetering on two different majors but at least I’m starting the process.

Some days are harder than others to force myself to sit in front of the computer and not get lost on Pinterest (I have a love/hate relationship with Pinterest).  And to top it off, I have 2 cats who feel the need to lay on TOP of my keyboard.  Yes, typing gets a little more difficult.

Besides the daily struggle I have with my own motivation and determination for the day, I combat these crazy cats.  Over the past year there are some things that have helped me to stay motivated on the days when I just want to fall into a season of Sons of Anarchy on Netflix.  To each their own, but here’s a couple of things I do to stay on top of my game:

Keep a calendar to stay accountable

For Christmas my sister got me a desk top calendar. At the time I didn’t think it would be useful but it turns out it’s my favorite asset!  I keep a log of what homework and assignments are due on the weekly printouts.  I’ve noticed I like a paper and pen calendar more than an electronic one.  I like that fact I can highlight what I have accomplished.  It takes one glance to see what else I have to do for the week.  I’ve even started using it for when bills are due which is great for the trickle of money that I have coming in at the moment.

Motivation Wall

This was my favorite project to tackle a couple of months ago. I set out to Pinterest (I had a legit reason to scroll the never-ending boards this time) to find different motivational sayings I liked.  Some of the quotes I had already pinned so I just had to go back to my Words to Remember board.   I printed out the ones that meant the most to me and put them together in a collage.  Then, after every last quote was in place, I hung it right where I could see it when I sat at my desk.  Not only did I add motivational sayings but ones about life in general.  It helps bring me back down to Earth sometimes. 🙂

Music

I don’t know what I would do without music. It is the heartbeat of my day.  As soon as I wake up, my Pandora goes on.  There is nothing like a cup of coffee and some Brantley Gilbert.  Some days I need some old school techno to get me going, but rest assured, I have a Pandora station for every mood.  Everyone has Pandora, right?

Take Breaks

Just because I work at home doesn’t mean I’m a work-a-holic. I’m far from it actually.  When I feel a burn out coming, I take a break.  There is always something to do around the house.  Take the trash out and get some sunshine!  Make it a longer walk and grab the mail while you’re out and about.    We all know there is usually always some laundry to do.  Actually, one of my best breaks is in the afternoon.  I purposefully wait to shower until I need a break late morning/midafternoon (unless I have somewhere to go, of course).  It’s a longer break than the others and gives me time to not look at the computer.

Visualization Board

A visualization board is a collection of your goals, dreams, wishes and anything else you want to put into place. Your visualization board might contain a particular city you want to vacation to, the sports car you’ve always wanted, or your dream house.  My board contains a check for an undisclosed amount of money (I’m a starving college student, remember), a white Range Rover, and the tiki huts in Bora Bora.  These are big goals, I know.  But I have to remember what it is I’m reaching for.  This board sits next to my Motivation Wall.

Exercise

I am not a gym bunny by any means. Matter of fact, I would rather do 8 oz curls with a glass of wine than go to the gym.  I never was into sports as a kid so getting sweaty is not something I strive for.  However, I have found these great HIIT routines on Pinterest (late night scrolling) that are short and to the point!  The one in particular I like takes me about 20 minutes and gives me so much energy (after I catch my breath, that is).  Here is the link to my fav workout

Again, this is what works for me.  What works for you might be entirely different.  I hope my techniques gave you some ideas or motivation! ♥

Cheers to motivation!

signature056 (2)

2 thoughts on “Staying Motivated

  1. Great tips! I like the motivation wall idea. I’m currently going through a huge life change myself, having just uprooted my family and moved 4,500 km away from home to the Northwest Territories. And all to pursue some new career goals. I find it hard to stay motivated some days, but it’s one of the reasons I started a blog about it. On top of being a big part of my career goal, writing also keeps me sane.

    Like

    • I am a huge fan of new starts. It’s a breathe of fresh air but can be overwhelming. I found blogging to be an outlet for me when I need an extra push. Good luck with your new career goals! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

