4 Tips to Get Out of an Introvert Funk

Introverting

I’ve heard the terms introvert and extrovert for years but never really gave them much thought.  What were they?  What are the differences in them?  Is there a scale?  Can someone be in the middle or are they either one or the other?  I clearly had so many questions.

It wasn’t until I took Psychology of the Personality that I fully grasped the concept.  It was clear, I’m an introvert.  Don’t get me wrong, there are times when I’m social.  However, I should also mention I’m a Pisces (just more evidence of my introverted nature).  But is this something I inherited or something that happened because of what has happened in my life?

Nature versus nurture is an age-old question.  I don’t remember being overly shy as a kid, but more reserved than some of my classmates.  Sure, once I get comfortable with someone or a group of people, I’m more talkative.  However, the initial meeting is usually awkward for me.

Becoming an adult and especially being interested in the marketing field, I was told you should have an elevator speech (who I am, what I do, and why I do it).  My thought?  “Why would I have an elevator speech when I don’t talk to strangers?”  I guess my mother’s speech of “Don’t talk to strangers” really stuck.  Really, REALLY stuck.

Some days are harder than others to be social.  I wouldn’t say I’m socially awkward, just quieter at first.  Job interviews have proven to be difficult.  Sometimes I even turn my phone off.  So the goal of this post is to acknowledge it and do something about it.

Tweet: What’s the best way to get out of an introvert funk? What’s the best way to get out of an introvert funk?

Here’s some things I found work best for me:

Don’t sulk. Oh man.  The only thing I want to do is turn on Netflix and lose myself in a season or 4 of Sons of Anarchy.  Unfortunately, that is the worst thing to do.  If my lack of motivation is really bad, I will give myself one day to sulk.  One.  That’s it.  Get it all over with in a 24 hour span.  Cry if you need to.  Eat pizza if you need to.  Then the next day, it’s over.  No more.  I won’t even talk about what was bothering me.  The next day is a productive one.  I found cleaning my house makes me feel like my life is in order.

I’ve noticed being a productive member of society pulls me out of my funk as well.  Whether it’s cleaning the house from top to bottom, going to work, getting an assignment for school completed, or helping with my nieces and nephews, it somehow turns my blues inside out.

Music.  I can’t say it enough, music is key to my life.  You can tell what type of mood I’m in by what genre of music I have playing.  There is nothing like a little bit of pop music to get me out of the rabbit hole.

Work Out.  This is such a hard one at times.  The last thing I want to do is get up and exercise when I’m down.  However, the reward I feel afterwards is so worth it.  I have to force myself to exercise.  Besides, in my quest to be a fit female, I kill two birds with one stone with this one.

Writing.  This one is new to me.  As you can see, my blog is still young.  I never thought of myself as a writer but over the last month I can say writing has almost been therapeutic.  And the best part about my blog is I can write whatever it is my heart desires.  Not only does writing pull me out of my funk, it helps me discover things I never knew about myself.  There have been quite a few “Ah-Ha” moments.

Everyone can get down from time to time.  That’s life, it’s a roller coaster.  How you pull yourself out of the downs is the most important.  I wouldn’t say I have depression or any other psychological disorder, I would say I experience life on life’s terms.  I didn’t mention this in the above tips but having a best friend that lets you vent is one of the best gifts in life.  I am forever grateful for my BFFL’s listening ear.

Tweet: So get up, get out of your yoga pants and turn on some music. So get up, get out of your yoga pants and turn on some music.

You won’t regret it.  And if you want to vent to a complete stranger, email me.  I love to listen.

Cheers!

signature056 (2)

 

2 thoughts on “4 Tips to Get Out of an Introvert Funk

  1. These are all so helpful. I use music and workouts a lot. And writing blog posts helps relieve any frustration, it really is therapeutic. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

