Why I won’t set Goals in 2015

Beginning

You think I’m crazy, don’t you? Well, you aren’t too far off, but that’s beside the point.

As another new year approaches I can’t help but reflect. (First of all, let me just give a little thanks that I am able to see another year)

The resolutions and goals I made for myself at the beginning of 2014 were a flop. Needless to say, they were forgotten by February. I don’t want that to happen again this upcoming year.

Being that I am now in a new decade of my life, I figured I would change things up this New Year.

I never seem to accomplish the goals I set out for myself, so I settled on making life changes instead.

Life changes sounds so scary!

No, these aren’t HUGE life changes. They are little pushes towards the person I want to become.

Check ‘em out:

Schedule out my time. I’m so bad at getting lost on Pinterest. Or worse, going from website to website and forgetting what I went there for but now I know how to speak to a Giraffe *rolls eyes*.  If I can force myself to sit down every Sunday and plan out my week, I can hold myself accountable for the time I spend on day to day tasks.

Make healthier eating choices. In 2014 I tried to be as skinny as I was in my 20’s (I’m just shy of my 31st birthday so I’m not that far off), however I have now come to the realization that will NEVER happen. Being skinny is not always healthy. In 2015 I will strive to be a healthy weight for my height and feel comfortable in my own skin. I don’t think I will ever be a body builder, but I also don’t want to be on the other end of that spectrum (mainly for longevity purposes).

Be selective with relationships. No, not just romantic relationships. I’ve noticed recently the people I have been surrounding myself with have no drive, no ambition, and no future. That is not what I want for my future. Ever heard the phrase “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with” by Jim Rohn? It is so very true. Sure, I like to go out. But I don’t like feeling like I’m dying a slow death the next day (I clearly don’t recover like I used to in my 20’s). With that being said, my 5 people will change in 2015.

Think more positively. The power of thought is HUGE! Sure we all get down every now and again, but it’s how you pull yourself out of the down that builds character. Concentrating on what is good in your life will prevent some of those downs. A gratitude journal may be helpful here.

I’m not saying 2015 is going to be a complete turnaround for me. What I am saying is 2015 will be the starting point in which I changed my life for the better.

What are some of your life changes/goals/resolutions for 2015?

signature056 (2)

Leave a Reply

