How to be happy and single

Being Single

I’ve never been one to get hung up on a relationship status.  I’m single.  And the best part is, I’m ok with that.

Well, today I found a brilliant article on the greatness of being single and not settling.

Laura Jane Williams from ThoughCatalog.com writes a letter to all the singles out there.  She points out “Single doesn’t mean less-than.  Single means whole”.  I love this.  I am whole by myself.  I will not be broken again.  The only thing I will be is improved.

The best thing about being improved is I can improve myself by myself or I can allow someone to enter my life who will only improve it.  Again, this is perfect.

“You’ll know how to fill the spaces in your togetherness because you learned to be comfortable with your aloneness” Laura explains when they enter your life.  Being able to be comfortable by myself wasn’t always the case.  I now treasure my time alone.  It allows me time to reflect and dig deep into what I want.  It truly is a gratifying time.

“You were always going to go a little bit longer, a little bit further, alone, without them, in order to be ready for the love coming your way.”  I have to say I believe this with my whole heart.  My journey is meant to go it alone for a little while longer than most in order for me to be the best partner I can be.

“Make sure the universe knows that you’re doing your best to become the person you need to be. For them. For yourself. For the love that will be your life.”  This chick is so right on! The universe is a mysterious place.  Let it be known I am not closed off to love, but waiting for that one.  And then, only then will it all make sense.

Laura Jane Williams, I salute you for writing such a beautiful and uplifting article.  It reminds me that my journey is ok alone for now.  Maybe I’m a hopeless romantic, but I believe in love.  I will wait for the one.

Check out Laura’s article here and follow ThoughtCatalog.com for more awesomely uplifting articles.

Cheers to 2015!

signature056 (2)

Photo from www.hplyrikz.com
2 thoughts on “How to be happy and single

Leave a Reply

